Posts Tagged ‘healing’

My good friend Heather Nelson is an incredible reiki master, colleague, and jewelry designer…she’s designed a new reiki infused chakra bracelet .This is a beautiful and energetic piece of custom jewelry. This post is a great resource on crystals and chakras. (my thanks to Heather and http://www.heatherstones.com.)


I’ve been asked by various folks to explain “chakra jewelry” and why you would want to wear it. So here goes! First, I’ll give a simplified explanation of what chakras are, and then I’ll talk about why jewelry containing the right gemstones can help strengthen and balance your chakras.

The human body’s blood circulatory system looks like a road map, with major highways (veins and arteries) and countless side roads (capillaries); there are many “intersections” where the veins and arteries branch off. The body’s energy system is similar, with many channels running throughout the body, and many “intersections”. Very simply, in the blood circulatory system, oxygenated blood flows away from the heart and lungs via the arteries, and “used”, deoxygenated blood returns via the veins. However, in the energy system, channels carrying different subtle energies meet in hundreds of places in our bodies. In each place where different energies meet, a swirling vortex forms, similar to the vortex created when cold and warm air meet in a weather system. In our subtle energy system, ancient Indian scholars called this energetic vortex a chakra, which means “wheel”. All of the chakras are interconnected, mutually affected by the ebb and flow of the person’s subtle energies.

Although there are many chakras, seven chakras occur along the body’s midline, where the subtle body’s major energies meet. There are many views of these chakras’ properties, but they can be described as follows:

  • Root or Base Chakra: The most primal chakra, the Root chakra is closely associated with our sense of safety and security, and with being grounded. This chakra is closely linked to our need to survive. It is located at the base of the spine. This chakra is associated with the color red.
  • Sacral or Belly Chakra: The Sacral chakra is the home of our energies around close, intimate relationships, such as with our family and life partners, and is the source of both our creativity and sexuality. It is located just below the navel, centered in the body between the spine and the belly. This chakra is associated with the color orange.
  • Solar Plexus Chakra: The Solar Plexus chakra is our personal sun, and is the home of our self-confidence and emotional stability. It is the source of the energies from which we draw as we meet new people and generally make our way in the world. For most men and women, the Solar Plexus is the seat of their personal power, although for some women it is at the Root chakra. It is located at the solar plexus, just below the ribs. This chakra is associated with the color yellow.
  • Heart Chakra: As you might expect, the Heart chakra is the source of energies related to love, caring, and compassion. This chakra is also associated with giving and receiving healing energy. It is located in the center of the chest, just above the breasts. This chakra is associated with the colors green and pink.
  • Throat Chakra: The throat chakra is related to how we communicate what we think and feel. Unlike the Solar Plexus chakra, which relates to how we present ourselves (confident, shy, enthusiastic, and so forth), this chakra relates to how we actually express ourselves, and to some degree, how well we listen. It is located at the base of the throat, at the “pocket” between the ends of the collar bone. This chakra is associated with the color blue, usually a sky blue.
  • Third Eye: The Third Eye is the seat of our intuition and psychic abilities – with this chakra, we can see the unseen. It is located on the center of the forehead. This chakra is associated with the color indigo, a deep blue.
  • Crown Chakra: The Crown chakra is the source of our spirituality; divine energy flows into our body via this chakra. It is located just above the center of the head. This chakra is associated with the colors white and a deep purple.

The chakras are numbered from the Root (1) to the Crown (7).

Good maintenance of these seven chakras is essential to your health and well being, in mind, body, and spirit – they should be kept clear and equally balanced at all times, with no one chakra being treated as “better” than another. Regular Reiki treatment is my favorite way to do this – a full session thoroughly cleanses the chakras and brings them into balance with each other. Between sessions, though, a good way to maintain your chakras is carry or wear gemstones that are associated with each chakra. A particular chakra’s gemstone may (or may not) be the same color as that associated with that chakra, but more importantly, the stone has properties that benefit the chakra, strengthening and often cleansing it. Here is a list of a few of the gemstones commonly associated with each of the chakras.

  • Root/Base: Garnet, ruby, red jasper, black tourmaline, smoky quartz
  • Sacral/Belly: Amber, citrine, carnelian, orange calcite, topaz
  • Solar Plexus: Golden topaz, tiger eye, citrine
  • Heart: Rose quartz, aventurine, kunzite, emerald
  • Throat: Aquamarine, chrysocolla, lapis lazuli, sodalite, turquoise
  • Third Eye: Amethyst, blue calcite, lapis lazuli
  • Crown: Amethyst, charoite, clear quartz, selenite, sugilite

In chakra jewelry, all of the chakras are represented. Some chakra jewelry represents merely the colors of the chakras, using glass or man-made crystal. This is mildly helpful, but is mostly pretty. For me, true chakra jewelry uses natural gemstones that benefit each of the chakras as described above, and is worn as either a bracelet or necklace, with the stones touching the skin. In this way, every chakra receives equal benefit, which naturally and gently keeps all seven of them in balance. (You can see examples of this kind of chakra jewelry at HeatherStones.com.)

I hope I’ve answered the question well here. Of course, now that I’ve thrown nearly a thousand words at the subject, the reason you should wear chakra jewelry is really very simple – it feels good, and keeps you feeling good!

Credit where credit is due: I am deeply indebted to the following authors for the information I used when writing this article: Caroline Myss (The Anatomy of the Spirit); Judy Hall (The Crystal Bible); and Doreen Virtue and Judith Lukomski (Crystal Therapy). These books are excellent references and a fascinating read

Read Full Post »

« Newer Posts